Кафедра английской филологии

О кафедре | Сотрудники Студентам

The Department of the English Language and Intercultural Communication was established in 2016 on the basis of the unification of two departments: the English Language Chair and the Chair of English Philology and Intercultural Communication for the purposeful training of specialists in theoretical and practical disciplines connected with the problems of general philology, the theory of language and German studies, as well as with the problems of comparative, typological and intercultural orientation.

The department is engaged in the training of specialists at all levels of study in higher education (bachelor's degree, master's degree, post-graduate education), preparing specialists in such areas of bachelor's training as Philology, Linguistics, Fundamental and Applied Linguistics.

The department provides teaching the following theoretical and special courses: Problems of modern linguistics, Actual problems of the theory of intercultural communication, Actual problems of the theory of language, Introduction to the theory of intercultural communication, Internet resources in the work of an interpreter, History of linguistic doctrines, History of the main language, Computer technologies in teaching foreign languages, Culture, history and economy of the countries of the studied language, Language culture, Linguistic and cultural aspects of translation, Linguistic culture, Methods and procedures of analysis in comparative studies, Methodology and technology of the linguistic research, Methods of linguistic analysis, General phonetics, General linguistics, Fundamentals of intercultural communication, Fundamentals of the theory of the first foreign language, Fundamentals of philology, Fundamentals of linguistics, Translation in the field of professional communication, Problems of modern linguistics, Special seminar (theoretical course), Special course (theoretical course), Theoretical laboratory of the translator, Theoretical course of grammar, Theoretical course of lexicology, Theoretical course of the main foreign language, Theoretical course of stylistics, Theoretical Course of Phonetics, Theory of intercultural communication, Translation theory.

The scientific activity of the department, connected with the study of units of different levels of the language structure in the light of traditional and modern linguistic paradigms, is reflected in different spheres of the research work of the members of the department:

– The theory of nomination: onomastics, secondary nomination, phraseology (Associate Prof. A.V. Urazmetova);

– Lexicology of the English Language: derivatology, theory of occasionality, language game (Prof. S.Zh. Nukhov)

– Comparative typology of languages: typology of lexical systems, semantic and formal structure of the lexical nomination (Prof. S.G. Shafikov, Associate Prof. N.A. Kurashkina, Associate Prof. I.V. Varuha, Associate Prof. E.F. Safina);

– Cultural and cognitive linguistics: cognitive-functional description of the language, conceptual and linguistic models of the world, problem of the ethno-cultural component of languages ​​(Prof. Z.Z. Chanysheva, Associate Prof. A.A. Matveeva, Associate Prof. A.M. Pogorelko, Associate Prof. A.S. Samigullina, Associate Prof. E.M. Rizyapova, Associate Prof. R.M. Salimova, Associate Prof. E.V. Shpar, Associate Prof. Yu.A. Koshevarova, Cand. of Phil. Sciences D.Yu. Dmitrieva);

– The theory of translation: translation of culturally marked and lacunary vocabulary (Prof. Z.Z. Chanysheva, Associate Prof. A.M. Pogorelko);

– The theory of text (discourse): the problems of the political text and media discourse (Prof. Z.Z. Chanysheva, Associate Prof. A.M. Pogorelko, Associate Prof. R.T. Saduov, Associate Prof. E.V. Shpar).·​

The department manages the scientific works of students, the research work of undergraduates, postgraduates and applicants of a scientific degree in the following specialties: 10.02.04 – Germanic languages ​​and 10.02.19 – theory of language. The chair has prepared about 80 candidates of sciences and 4 doctors of sciences.